Slut Shaming in Geek Culture

Slut Shaming in Geek Culture

A really great article about geeky sexism, a problem all us Geek Girls have faced.

As a veteran D&D player in my senior year of high school, I joined a male friend’s Rifts game; my first acquaintance with the system.  I decided to play a Blind Atlantean Warrior Woman.  So how did the GM introduce my character?  By having me tied up in the closet so the male characters had to rescue me!  My stats indicated that I should have been able to kick the shit out of all three of them at the same time . . .  And don’t even let me get into what happened when I brought my epic characters into my hubby’s cousin’s long-running epic game.  What a bunch of misogynistic pricks!  We need to get rid of this kind of crap.

2 thoughts on “Slut Shaming in Geek Culture

  1. Pingback: Wonder Woman & Slut Shaming | Hoo Mah Moos?

Leave a comment