I Tried to List the Top Ten Books I Read in 2016, But…

Diane Morrison

…I apparently read a lot of outstanding books over the course of the year and simply could not pick a top ten list!  More than twenty of the 56 that Goodreads tells me I read (my goal was 50,) I gave a rating of five stars to.  And choosing which ones stayed with me the most between them was frankly impossible.  So instead, I’ve decided to show you the summary from Goodreads, and cover a few significant highlights.  Among them:

  • Reading challenges and book clubs are a great way to expand your horizons.  Because we’re all monkeys, we read more if we offer ourselves little (meaningless, personal) rewards for doing so.  And if our challenges are well-chosen, we read things we otherwise would never have read, often discovering brilliant work in the process.
  • When you take a bunch of stuff that nobody ever does and mix it all together, it often works…

View original post 672 more words

Leave a Reply

