Review: Hornblower and the Hotspur

Hornblower and the Hotspur
Hornblower and the Hotspur by C.S. Forester
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I’m a Horatio Hornblower fan! I’m reading them in chronological order and I’m impressed with the depth of the character as well as the high seas action. Horatio is a brave man who thinks of himself as a coward, a noble man who thinks of himself as honourless, and a loving husband and father who thinks of himself as emotionally cold. His efforts to be what he doesn’t believe that he is makes him what he aspires to be. Finding out what happens to the character is every bit as riveting as the plotline, and that, to me, is the mark of a great novel.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

