Wonder Woman & Slut-Shaming

Wonder Woman & Slut-Shaming

This excellent article was posted in response to one that I linked, but I really loved it and thought it worthy of direct-sharing so you all could check it out.  Point blank, I am a Wonder Woman fan.  I had the Underoos and everything.  How could I not love a superheroine who had my name?  I wanted to be her when I grew up; and the points raised in this article around this are excellent ones.  How slut-shaming is part of Greek mythology.  How Wonder Woman is simply not able to be slut-shamed.  How all of this reflects badly in the slut-shaming, “geek girl” testing in the geek community.  I’ll be point blank here; I’m a proponent of positive sexuality, and I see no reason why a woman cannot be freely sexual with whomever she wants to be sexual with (or several whomevers).  I make no secret that I am offended by our society’s double-standards; I don’t agree with them and I refuse to abide by them.  Read this article, it’s great.

Leave a Reply

